|
|
|
These are all the subscription Online Databases of the Niles Public Library.
Online Databases with the
image can be accessed remotely with a Niles Public Library card.
Having problems accessing a database from home click here?
Especially for Kids
Magazines, Newspapers & Journals - Health - Business & People Directory
Homework Help - Encyclopedias, Dictionary, Images & Almanacs - Financial & Public Records
Books and Media - Genealogy - Library Catalogs - Automotive Repair - Practice Tests
Search Many Online Databases
Online Databases Search 
Search many of our Online Databases with one easy search.
Especially for Kids
Tumblebooks 
Check out Tumblebooks, online picture books that move and talk! The Tumblebooks collection also includes read-alongs for early readers, puzzles, games, book quizzes, audiobooks for older readers, and a collection of foreign language books. Start your Tumblebooks adventure now!

Searchasaurus from EBSCO 
Searchasaurus gives children the chance to search for information in kid-friendly magazines and newspapers.

Live Homework Help from Tutor.com 
Students in Grades 4-12 can talk with a tutor online between 2PM and 10PM seven days a week. Get help with math, grammar, science and other subjects. This service is also available en Español.

Facts.com 
Research tool for middle and high school students that includes a collection of national and world news coverage from 1940 through today; the World Almanac and World Almanac Encyclopedia; Issues & Controversies, in-depth pro and con coverage of today’s top issues; and Today’s Science, science news written especially for students.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The CLCD is a great way to look up children's books by author, title, subjects, and reading levels, including Lexiles, Reading Counts, and Accelerated Reader..

Novelist K-8 from EBSCO 
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen.

Grolier Online 
Allows you to search through several online encyclopedias at once: Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, the New Book of Knowledge, the New Book of Popular Science, America the Beautiful, Amazing Animals of the World, and Lands and Peoples.
- Encyclopedia Americana

The online version of one of the world's most respected encyclopedias. Includes the Americana Journal (for looking up information on countries, organizations or specific dates) and the Wall Street Journal Almanac.
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia

Includes articles, photos, an interactive atlas, magazine articles, videos, animations, primary source documents, and major news stories. Of special interest to students in grade 4 and up.
- New Book of Knowledge

General encyclopedia for students in elementary grades. Includes timelines, homework help, games, quizzes, maps, photos, and newScoops for current events.
- New Book of Popular Science

Articles on science, technology, and medical topics for middle school and high school students. Includes games, brainteasers, weekly top science stories, and links to relevant web sites.
- Amazing Animals of the World

Elementary students and above can check out the animal of the day, and look up spectacular pictures and interesting facts about the animals of the world.
- Lands and Peoples

Including all of the information from the reference set and more, this resource is excellent for middle school and high school students.
Animals from EBSCO 
This database provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Images from EBSCO 
This database provides images of Photos of People, Natural Science Photos, Photos of Places, Historical Photos, Maps and Flags.

World Almanacs from OCLC FirstSearch 
Full text of the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac of the USA, World Almanac of US Politics and World Almanac for Kids, World Almanacs. Includes information from 1998-Current.
Magazines, Newspapers & Journals
MasterFILE
Premier from EBSCO 
General publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Also includes reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an image collection of photos, maps and flags. .

Searchasaurus
from EBSCO 
Searchasaurus gives children the chance to search for information in kid-friendly magazines and newspapers.

ProQuest

Allows you to search through 5
newspapers ,Ethnic NewsWatch
and ENW: A History (ENW+H) at once. ProQuest
Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune can only be searched independently.
OCLC
FirstSearch 
Search for information on a wide variety of subjects
in 13 different databases including Magazines & Newspapers.
- ArticleFirst

Indexing for 1990- with selected full text.
- ERIC

Journal articles, dissertations, and reports in the educational field. Indexing for 1966-. Selected full text from 1991- .
- U.S.
Government Printers Office Monthly Catalog (GPO)

Coverage 1976- US government documents including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Please inquire at the Reference Desk for options in locating government documents.
Health
Magill’s Medical Guide 
General medical information suitable for high school, public, and academic libraries.

Medline from OCLC FirstSearch 
Index of medical research articles from 1965- . Includes extensive abstracts and selected full text. Inquire at the Reference Desk about locating articles identified by this database.
Business & People Directory
ReferenceUSA 
Allows company searches by size, location, and industry. Includes residential information.
Homework Help
Live Homework Help from Tutor.com 
Students in Grades 4-12 can talk with a tutor online between 2PM and 10PM seven days a week. Get help with math, grammar, science and other subjects. This service is also available en Español.
Facts.com 
Research tool for middle and high school students that includes a collection of national and world news coverage from 1940 through today; the World Almanac and World Almanac Encyclopedia; Issues & Controversies, in-depth pro and con coverage of today’s top issues; and Today’s Science, science news written especially for students.
LearningExpress 
Practice tests for career exploration, college entrance, advanced degree, and professional and technical examinations.
Encyclopedias
, Dictionary, Images & Almanacs
Grolier
Online 
Allows you to search through several online encyclopedias at once:
Encyclopedia Americana, the Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia,
the New Book of Knowledge, the New Book of Popular Science, America the Beautiful, Amazing Animals of the World, and Lands and Peoples.
- Encyclopedia
Americana

The online version of one of the world's most respected encyclopedias.
Includes the Americana Journal (for looking up information on countries,
organizations or specific dates) and the Wall Street Journal Almanac.
- Grolier
Multimedia Encyclopedia

Includes articles, photos, an interactive atlas, magazine articles,
videos, animations, primary source documents, and major news stories.
Of special interest to students in grade 4 and up.
- New
Book of Knowledge

General encyclopedia for students in elementary grades. Includes timelines,
homework help, games, quizzes, maps, photos, and newScoops for current
events.
- New
Book of Popular Science

Articles on science, technology, and medical topics for middle school
and high school students. Includes games, brainteasers, weekly top
science stories, and links to relevant web sites.
- Amazing Animals of the World

Elementary students and above can check out the animal of the day, and look up spectacular pictures and interesting facts about the animals of the world.
- Lands and Peoples

Including all of the information from the reference set and more, this resource is excellent for middle school and high school students.
Searchasaurus
from EBSCO 
Searchasaurus gives children the chance to search for information in kid-friendly Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia, Encyclopedia of Animals or Pictures of Maps, Flags, Historical photos and more.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia from EBSCO 
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Animals from EBSCO 
This database provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.

Images
from EBSCO 
This database provides images of Photos of People,
Natural Science Photos, Photos of Places, Historical
Photos, Maps and Flags.

The American Heritage® Dictionary, 4th Edition from EBSCO 

World
Almanacs from OCLC FirstSearch 
Full text of the World Almanac and Book of Facts, World Almanac of the
USA, World Almanac of US Politics and World Almanac for Kids, World
Almanacs. Includes information from 1998-Current.
Financial
& Public Records
Morningstar
Library Edition 
Search by individual mutual fund or stock or create your own real or imaginary portfolio and find out how the individual securities work together as a portfolio. Identify individual stocks or mutual funds that meet particular investment criteria by using the Morningstar screeners.

Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage 
Comprehensive business information on U.S. companies including data and analysis of industries, companies, stocks, bonds, mutual funds, and current business news..
Public
Records Online 
Provides information on new home sales, businesses, foreclosures, and bankruptcies in the Greater Chicagoland area. Includes information on counties and municipalities in Chicagoland, how to buy foreclosed property, and how to avoid foreclosure.
Books and Media
PatronBooksInPrint 
Find books, movies, and audio books in this user-friendly database of more than 6 million titles. You can browse the winners and nominees of over 400 book industry awards, titles by your favorite author, or fiction titles in a favorite series or featuring a favorite character.

Fiction Connection 
You can find book suggestions based on books you have already read, authors you like, or topics of interest. Easily create a personalized list of recommended titles based on characteristics you enjoy. Fiction and biography titles are included and suggestions can be printed or e-mailed for later review.

Non-Fiction Connection 
You can find book suggestions based on books you have already read or topics of interest. Easily create a personalized list of recommended titles based on characteristics you enjoy.

Novelist from EBSCO 
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000 fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. For school media specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching guides for using fiction in the classroom.

Novelist K-8 from EBSCO 
NoveList K-8 allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young readers as well as titles to use in your classroom. NoveList K-8 contains materials for all K-8 grade levels and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young adult titles. The NoveList Learning Center provides a complete introduction to the product and shows you how to use NoveList to meet the reading needs of your students. You can access the Learning Center by clicking on its link in the left hand column of your screen.

Literary Reference Center from EBSCO 
Comprehensive literary reference database, which provides users with a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)
The CLCD is a great way to look up children's books by author, title, subjects, and reading levels, including Lexiles, Reading Counts, and Accelerated Reader.

Gale's
Literary Index 
Use this to locate critical or biographical material in reference books about authors, books, stories or poems.
Genealogy
Heritage Quest from ProQuest 
Genealogy database which includes the US Census 1790-1930, page images of family and local history books, the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, and PERSI™ - The PERiodical Source Index..

Ancestry Library Edition from ProQuest In-Library Use Only
Genealogy database which includes census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, maps, the Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Card images, and more.
Library
Catalogs
Niles Public Library
District iBistro Catalog 
Allows you to look up books, videos, cd's,
etc. at the Niles Public Library and other CCS
Libraries. Need help using iBistro click
here for Frequently Asked Questions.

IllinoisCatalog from OCLC FirstSearch 
This database is a sort of "state online catalog," allowing you to look up items in hundreds of libraries across Illinois. Use IllinoisCatalog when you cannot find a book in NPLD iBistro Catalog. In most cases, you will have to request a book that you find in IllinoisCatalog via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

WorldCat
from OCLC FirstSearch 
This database is a sort of "national online catalog," allowing
you to look up items in thousands of libraries across the US and internationally.
Use WorldCat when you cannot find a book in the NPLD iBistro Catalog.
In most cases, you will have to request a book that you find in WorldCat
via Interlibrary
Loan (ILL)
Automotive Repair
ALLDATA
Manuals for diagnosing, repairing and maintaining vehicles. Includes recalls and auto service department Technical Service Bulletins. Find-a-Shop lets you search for automotive repair services in your area.
Practice Tests
LearningExpress 
Career exploration, college entrance, advanced degree, and professional and technical examinations.
|