The Library will be closed on Sunday, May 26 and Monday, May 27 in observance of Memorial Day. Enjoy the Digital Library here.

American Library Association Youth Media Awards

Every year the American Library Association (ALA) hosts the Youth Media Awards, a ceremony honoring books, videos, and other materials aimed for children and teens. These awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, Printz, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, are given for outstanding original and creative work in the literature.

2024 Winners:

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature: The Eyes and the Impossible, by Dave Eggers

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children: Big, illustrated and written by Vashti Harrison

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults: Nigeria Jones, written by Ibi Zoboi

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award recognizing an African American illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults: An American Story, illustrated by Dare Coulter and written by Kwame Alexander

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: The Collectors: Stories, edited by A.S. King, written by M.T. Anderson, e.E. Charlton-Trujillo, A.S. King, David Levithan, Cory McCarthy, Anna-Marie McLemore, G. Neri, Jason Reynolds, Randy Ribay and Jenny Torres Sanchez

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience: Henry, Like Always, written by Jenn Bailey and illustrated by Mika Song

Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement paying tribute to the quality and magnitude of beloved children’s authors: Christopher Paul Curtis, a historical fiction novelist who writes in accessible ways for emerging readers to understand the world around them.

For a list of all winners, please visit the ALA website.

Your Next Great Read